Fusion Camp // Summer 2013 [Before]

Story of the River

Coming soon, to a Christian holiday centre near you…

The mammoth spree of summer kids work continues this week with Fusion Camp. If you have a good memory, you’ll remember me blogging about this last year. Fusion is the youth group at my church for 7-11 year olds. I was a leader there whilst at school and went back to help on camp last summer. This year, I e-mailed Tony, the head honcho, asking if they needed an extra pair of hands to help out again. His reply: “Well, actually… we need a speaker…”

So here I am, ready (I guess!) to head off and deliver my first ever set of talks on a kids camp. I’m glad to say that the overwhelming emotion is currently excitement. I absolutely love this camp. I went on it when I was a kid and it fills me with praise of God’s grace that I’ve had the chance to serve and speak on it. It’s going to be a full week with a lot to pray for.

The Story of the River.

This is the title of the week’s teaching. It’s material I’ve nicked from my uncle (which I’m allowed to do, since it’s my first time, so hush), which is based on a parable written by Mac Lucado. It tells the story of four brothers – Harry, Fred, Larry and Gary – who live in their Father’s wonderful palace. They have total freedom, but he tells them they mustn’t go near the river. So what do they do? They go down to the river – and get pulled in, swept away and hopelessly lost in the wilderness. They all try different ways of dealing with their situation. Harry forgets his Father and builds a home for himself in the wilderness. Fred writes down all of Harry’s wrongs, hoping to show them to his Father and make himself look great. Larry tries to work his way back up the river by stacking rocks. Gary, however, knows that none of these will work. He waits until their older brother, Joshua, is sent to find them and tell them all that there’s only one way back to their Father – grace.

Now, I hope some Gospel bells are ringing in your head there! The story illustrates the teaching of Romans 1 – 5. All have sinned, trading the Creator’s glory for created things and cannot be justified by works – only by faith in Christ. The real aim of the teaching is to get the kids to see that there is only one way to God – Jesus! This is a truth for both church and unchurched kids, so please pray that the Holy Spirit would reveal these things to them!

Good, clean fun.

I’ve said this before – kids work is fun! It’s a great excuse to act like a 10 year old in the name of Jesus. I loved camp as a kid, and I think something juvenile in me tends to bubble back to the surface when I’m a leader. The week won’t work if the kids don’t have fun and if they don’t get on with each other, so pray that would be the case.

Pray also for safety. We’ve been immensely blessed over the years never to have had any serious problems, injuries etc. (though there’s been plenty of vomit and bedwetting) and we’d like that to continue. Pray for safety in our travel and activities.

All together!

One of my favourite things about Fusion is the team of leaders. It’s a very diverse bunch, and that continues this year. We’ve got a whole range of ages, seasoned camp-goers, first timers, some debutants in the kitchen. I’m so glad that God has created a people for himself, not just a load of isolated individuals, and we serve him as one body. Pray for unity, joy and support in the team. And maybe for good banter.

A faltering mouthpiece.

I’m immensely grateful for the opportunity to speak on this camp. The power of God’s transforming grace is mind boggling. I was a kid on these camps, and I don’t think I’d have been one that the leaders were putting money on to grow up and start serving the Lord like this. I’m reminded of Paul’s words:

By the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace to me was not without effect” – 1 Corinthians 15:10

God’s grace saved me, but it also changed me. It’s brought me from a distracted, disinterested boy who shrugged off Bible teaching to be what I am now – a young man with the humbling task of teaching God’s word to 40 odd children. “Humble” is my word of the week guys. Please pray that I would remember my utter dependence on God. Nothing I, nor any leader, can do will save these kids. It’s only the Holy Spirit who can do that.

So, that’s a little preview of the week. If you’re on Twitter, watch out for #Fusion2013. See you on the other side. “Once more unto the breach, dear friends, once more!”

Leave a comment